Low Alcoholic Content of Soft Drinks OK

Under strict interpretation of Muslim law, some soft drinks have been considered unacceptable to drink because they contain alcohol that’s used in flavoring agents. However, the Muslim Law Council, the UK’s highest authority on Muslim religious matters, says that an alcoholic content of .01% ethyl alcohol (ethanol) is not high enough to be considered a violation of Muslim dietary law.

In its presentation to the Council, a soft drink producer pointed out that fruit juices, bread and other foods often contain alcohol because of natural fermentation. In fact, some foods commonly contain much more alcohol than found in the soft drinks.

The British soft Drinks Association said that producers may now decide to mark their colas “halal” to emphasize their acceptability.

Reference:

  • BBC News. Muslins get soft drinks go-ahead, August 2, 2004.