September Named “National Bourbon Heritage Month” by U.S. Senate

September has been unanimously declared “National Bourbon Heritage Month” by the United States Senate.

Bourbon is a beverage that is distilled from a mash of at least 51% corn and aged in new charred oak barrels. It is believed to have been first produced by Reverend Elijah Craig in Bourbon County, Kentucky.

As the country’s only indigenous distilled spirit, Bourbon was named “America’s National Spirit” by the U.S. Congress in 1964.

Bourbon facts:

  • Bourbon contains no carbs (carbohydrates) and no fat.
  • Bourbon was President Harry Truman’s favorite alcoholic beverage.
  • Abraham Lincoln sold Bourbon when he lived in Kentucky.
  • Abraham Lincolns 1833 liquor license is on display at the Oscar Getz Museum of Whiskey History in Bardstown, Kentucky.
  • Ninety-nine percent of all Bourbon is produced in Kentucky.
  • Over half the price of a typical bottle of Bourbon results from taxes.



  • U.S. Senate Declares September “National Bourbon Heritage Month. Beam press release, August 6, 2007; History of Bourbon (
  • Favorite Alcoholic Beverages: Presidents to Paupers ( ;
  • Alcoholic Beverage Nutritional Labeling(

Filed Under: Fun Facts